XM and XLA® Foundation

XLA® FOUNDATION certified by

About the best practice

IP owner:XLABS B.V.
Accreditation institute:Van Haren Certify
Examination institute:certN

With the omnipresence of digital technology in our modern society and the increasing dependence on it, contractual relationships and Service Level Agreements (SLAs) have become a necessity in IT. However, relying solely on SLAs can lead to a situation where everyone works in their own silo, often neglecting the impact on the customer’s business and the people they serve. SLAs are task-based on minimum accepted quality and risk avoidance. In today’s business and IT landscape, we need more than technical output to ensure user and employee satisfaction. We need a standardized approach to measure how services are perceived; this is where Xperience Level Agreement (XLA®) comes into play. XLA® is a commitment between service providers and clients to optimize the outcome of digital and technology on humans and business. Experience Management (XM) is a set of activities that achieves a better experience and greater business impact by driving and improving collaboration. Prioritizing XM and XLA® is the key to satisfaction for both end users and employees. (More info on NEN 8038:2023.)

Certification definition

The XM and XLA® Foundation Certification is an essential component of the XM and XLA® Certification program. This certification validates that a candidate understands how to improve end-user experience and drive business impact through better collaboration using XM and XLA® practices. The certification also verifies the candidate’s knowledge about how to achieve an experience that is aligned with expectations and that sits in the “Zone of Good Enough”. It covers best practices for implementing experience through the Experience Management Journey, including exercises to build a compelling business case and action plan to move forward.

After successfully certifying in XM and XLA® Foundation, a professional has demonstrated that:

  • He or she recalls and understands what XM and XLA® are.
  • He or she recalls and understands why XM and XLA® are important.
  • He or she recalls and understands what the XLA® value drivers are.
  • He or she recalls and understands the 5 Ds within the XM Journey, and how to use the components that the 5 Ds consist of.

Certification requirements

Candidates can become certified by passing the XM and XLA® Foundation exam.

Vouchers for the certification exam are available through accredited trainers and Van Haren Group.

Certificate renewal

The XM and XLA® Foundation certificate is valid for two years.

Exam format

The general exam regulations apply to this exam.
Attempts per voucher:1
Number of questions:40
Passing score:80%
Time:60 minutes





Question type:Multiple choice

Exam Syllabus

The following table is an overview of the topics examined in the certification exam.
#questions Level(s) of Cognition Category
1 2 3
12 Introduction to XM and XLA®
  • What are XM and XLA?
  • Why are XM and XLA important?
  • What are the XLA value drivers?
2 The XM Journey
  • The 5 Ds
2 Define
  • Scope
  • Commitments
  • Purpose
  • Positioning
  • BHAG
8 Discover
  • Experience
  • Collaboration
  • Business impact
4 Dream
  • Ambition organization
  • Ambition per service
  • Gap analysis
  • Roadmap
8 Design
  • Experience
  • Method
  • Collaboration
  • XLA
  • Experience Management Office
4 Deliver
  • Taskforce
  • Governance
  • Processes
  • Tooling
  • Reporting
More information about the levels of cognition
  • Level 1 - Knowledge: This level requires candidates to recall specific information or facts. They should demonstrate the ability to remember and recognize details, terms, or concepts from their learning materials.
  • Level 2 - Comprehension: At this level, candidates are expected to show their understanding of the acquired information. They should be able to interpret, explain, and summarize. Candidates must go beyond mere memorization and demonstrate that they can grasp the meaning and implications of the information they have learned.
  • Level 3 - Application: The focus at this level is on candidates’ ability to apply their acquired knowledge in practical situations. They should be able to use what they have learned to solve problems, apply principles, or implement strategies in real-world scenarios.
  • Level 4 - Analysis: Analysis involves candidates breaking down complex concepts into smaller parts and comprehending the relationships between them. Candidates must display the ability to analyze information, identify components, and understand the underlying connections between them.
  • Level 5 - Synthesis: At this level, candidates are expected to exhibit the ability to create something new by combining different ideas, concepts, or elements. Candidates must demonstrate their capacity to generate hypotheses, design experiments, or develop original solutions to problems. Synthesis involves creativity and the integration of different elements to form a novel whole.
  • Level 6 - Evaluation: This level requires candidates to use judgments or assessments based on criteria and evidence. Candidates must critically analyze information, compare and contrast different perspectives, and make informed decisions. They should demonstrate the ability to evaluate the quality, validity, and reliability of information, arguments, or solutions.

Reference Material

The reference material for XM and XLA® Foundation certification exam is:

XLA® Pocketbook

Trainer accreditation

Van Haren Learning Solutions organizes the trainer accreditation for this certification program. More information on the accreditation process can be found on their website.