next prev

ITAM Foundation

ITAM FOUNDATION certified by

About the best practice

IP owner:ITAMorg®
Accreditation institute:Van Haren Certify
Examination institute:certN

ITAM stands for Information Technology Asset Management, which refers to the practices and processes used to manage and optimize the acquisition, deployment, maintenance, utilization, and disposition of software and hardware assets within an organization.

ITAM aims to ensure that technology assets are aligned with business goals, effectively utilized, and securely managed throughout their lifecycle. This includes ensuring software licenses are compliant, hardware is refreshed as needed, and assets are retired orderly.

ITAM standard refers to a set of best practices, guidelines, and principles that organizations can follow to implement a comprehensive and effective IT asset management program. The standard helps organizations to minimize costs, improve asset utilization, ensure license compliance, and manage risk.

Certification definition

The ITAM Foundation certification is the starting point for the ITAMorg® Information Technology Asset Management certification program. Certified candidates have a foundational understanding of ITAM, including its concepts, purpose, and organizational benefits. They are familiar with the ITAM lifecycle, workflows, and critical roles and possess knowledge of the four main areas of ITAM - Hardware Asset Management, Software Asset Management, Services, and Cloud Asset Management, and People and Information Asset Management. Furthermore, they understand the importance of IT governance and the optimization of IT assets from procurement to disposal, based on ITSM best practices and ISO standards 19770.

Certification requirements

Candidates can become certified by passing the ITAMorg® ITAM Foundation certification exam.

Vouchers for the certification exam are available through accredited trainers and Van Haren Group.

Certificate renewal

The ITAM Foundation certificate is valid for two years.

Exam format

The general exam regulations apply to this exam.
Attempts per voucher:1
Number of questions:40
Passing score:65%
Time:60 minutes





Question type:Multiple choice

Exam Syllabus

The following table is an overview of the topics examined in the certification exam.
#questions Level(s) of Cognition Category
1 2 3
6 Introduction
  • Definition, purposes and objectives
  • Why do your organisation need ITAM?
  • Introduction to the four key areas - Hardware Asset Management, Software Asset Management, Services & cloud Asset Management, People & Information Asset Management
  • The IT Asset lifecycle and its impact on your business
  • The key roles in ITAM – stakeholders, functions, roles and responsibilities
  • Typical business issues and challenges in the ITAM workflow
  • Introduction to ITAM best practices, ISO55000 and ITSM
8 Hardware Asset Management
  • The concept, purpose and benefits of HAM
  • The HAM lifecycle in your organisation from acquisition to disposal
  • Request and approval processes, procurement and lifecycle management, re-deployment and disposal management
  • The placement of HAM in the ITAM ecosystem
  • Mobile device (asset) management aspects of HAM
  • The best practices of HAM (ISO and ITSM)
  • The tool reflections of HAM
8 Software Asset Management
  • Definition and objectives
  • SAM best practices and framework
  • The business value of SAM
  • SAM from request to acquisition through disposal
  • Key roles and stakeholders in a SAM program
  • The placement of SAM in the ITAM ecosystem
  • The concept of compliance
  • The risks/costs related to software audits
  • Organisational pitfalls and challenges in the SAM process
  • IT Service Management and ISO19770 approach within SAM
8 Services & Cloud Asset Management
  • The concept of services and cloud services
  • The costs, challenges and benefits associated with Services and Cloud services
  • Definition and objectives within Services and Cloud Asset Management (SEAM)
  • The contractual issues as assets in SEAM
  • The pitfalls and benefits from SEAM
  • ITAM best practices in a SEAM context
  • The placement of SEAM in the ITAM ecosystem
  • Key roles and stakeholders in a SEAM program
  • Compliance in a Cloud perspective
8 People & Information Asset Management
  • Definition and objectives
  • How to define Information and People as assets?
  • Security and risk control (information sharing, employees leaving the organisation, loss of mobile devices, access regulations, etc.)
  • BYOD in a People and Information Management perspective
  • How do mobile users use their devices and content? Benefits and pitfalls
  • Policy Setting – security policies for content, users and mobile devices
2 ITAM interfaces
  • The best practices in the ITAM framework
  • How to assess and understand the ITAM maturity in your organisation
  • The interface between the four key ITAM areas (HAM, SAM, SEAM, PINAM)
  • Effective communication of your ITAM goals to the key stakeholders in your organisation
  • ITAM integration with the organisational key business drivers and goals
More information about the levels of cognition
  • Level 1 - Knowledge: This level requires candidates to recall specific information or facts. They should demonstrate the ability to remember and recognize details, terms, or concepts from their learning materials.
  • Level 2 - Comprehension: At this level, candidates are expected to show their understanding of the acquired information. They should be able to interpret, explain, and summarize. Candidates must go beyond mere memorization and demonstrate that they can grasp the meaning and implications of the information they have learned.
  • Level 3 - Application: The focus at this level is on candidates’ ability to apply their acquired knowledge in practical situations. They should be able to use what they have learned to solve problems, apply principles, or implement strategies in real-world scenarios.
  • Level 4 - Analysis: Analysis involves candidates breaking down complex concepts into smaller parts and comprehending the relationships between them. Candidates must display the ability to analyze information, identify components, and understand the underlying connections between them.
  • Level 5 - Synthesis: At this level, candidates are expected to exhibit the ability to create something new by combining different ideas, concepts, or elements. Candidates must demonstrate their capacity to generate hypotheses, design experiments, or develop original solutions to problems. Synthesis involves creativity and the integration of different elements to form a novel whole.
  • Level 6 - Evaluation: This level requires candidates to use judgments or assessments based on criteria and evidence. Candidates must critically analyze information, compare and contrast different perspectives, and make informed decisions. They should demonstrate the ability to evaluate the quality, validity, and reliability of information, arguments, or solutions.

Reference Material

The reference material for the ITAMOrg® IT Asset Management Foundation exam is as follows:

ITAMOrg® IT Asset Management Foundation Courseware

Trainer accreditation

Van Haren Learning Solutions organizes the trainer accreditation for this certification program. More information on the accreditation process can be found on their website.