next prev
nl en

ISM Foundation

V5 ISM FOUNDATION certified by

About the best practice

IP owner:Servitect®
Accreditation institute:Van Haren Certify
Examination institute:certN

ISM® (Integrated Service Management) is a solution to improve IT service management (ITSM) by organizing and strengthening collaboration between customers, IT professionals, and leaders. The ISM method standardizes how IT services are designed, delivered, and maintained while integrating the best ideas and solutions from frameworks such as ITIL®, DevOps®, Agile, Lean, and OBM® into a compact and integrated solution. The goal of ISM® is to provide a result-oriented approach to IT service delivery that delivers customer value and reduces the burden on professionals and management. It aims to give organizations the ability to grow at their own pace and provides answers to questions about how ISM® can help and what its thought process and results are.

Certification definition

The ISM® 5 Foundation certification recognizes individuals with a basic understanding of the ISM® approach to IT service management. Certified candidates are familiar with the key concepts and principles of the ISM® method and its application in managing IT services in an organization. They are equipped to participate in organizations that use the ISM® method as a reference framework for IT service management and have a general understanding of the role of different stakeholders in delivering IT services.

Certification requirements

The certification can be attained exclusively through passing the ISM® 5 Foundation certification exam.

Vouchers for the certification exam are available through accredited trainers and Van Haren Group.

Certificate renewal

The ISM® 5 Foundation certificate is valid for life.

Exam format

The general exam regulations apply to this exam.
Attempts per voucher:1
Number of questions:40
Passing score:65%
Time:60 minutes





Question type:Multiple choice

Exam Syllabus

The following table is an overview of the topics examined in the certification exam.
#questions Level(s) of Cognition Category
1 2 3
3 Customer value and Services
3 The field (ITSM and ISM)
5 People
3 Creating services (actions, processes, value streams)
2 Management (directing the operation)
2 Position (STM)
3 Agree (SLM)
3 Improve (IMP)
4 Change (CHM)
4 Restore (INC)
4 Inform (KNM)
4 Delivery (OPS)
More information about the levels of cognition
  • Level 1 - Knowledge: This level requires candidates to recall specific information or facts. They should demonstrate the ability to remember and recognize details, terms, or concepts from their learning materials.
  • Level 2 - Comprehension: At this level, candidates are expected to show their understanding of the acquired information. They should be able to interpret, explain, and summarize. Candidates must go beyond mere memorization and demonstrate that they can grasp the meaning and implications of the information they have learned.
  • Level 3 - Application: The focus at this level is on candidates’ ability to apply their acquired knowledge in practical situations. They should be able to use what they have learned to solve problems, apply principles, or implement strategies in real-world scenarios.
  • Level 4 - Analysis: Analysis involves candidates breaking down complex concepts into smaller parts and comprehending the relationships between them. Candidates must display the ability to analyze information, identify components, and understand the underlying connections between them.
  • Level 5 - Synthesis: At this level, candidates are expected to exhibit the ability to create something new by combining different ideas, concepts, or elements. Candidates must demonstrate their capacity to generate hypotheses, design experiments, or develop original solutions to problems. Synthesis involves creativity and the integration of different elements to form a novel whole.
  • Level 6 - Evaluation: This level requires candidates to use judgments or assessments based on criteria and evidence. Candidates must critically analyze information, compare and contrast different perspectives, and make informed decisions. They should demonstrate the ability to evaluate the quality, validity, and reliability of information, arguments, or solutions.


The reference material for ISM® 5 Foundation exam is:

De ISM-methode versie 5

Trainer accreditation

Van Haren Learning Solutions organizes the trainer accreditation for this certification program. More information on the accreditation process can be found on their website.