next prev
nl en

CTAP® Foundation

CTAP FOUNDATION certified by

About the best practice

IP owner:CTAP® Consortium
Accreditation institute:Van Haren Certify
Examination institute:certN

CTAP® (Certified Test Automation Professional) is a certification program established by the CTAP® consortium. The CTAP® consortium is a collaboration of industry experts, consultancy organizations, and trainers. The consortium aims to promote and standardize best practices in test automation, regardless of the individual’s background, tooling preferences, or industry. The CTAP® certification program follows a structured approach to ensure professionals in the testing domain acquire the necessary knowledge and skills to increase the quality and reusability of test automation. The program also helps to create a common language among professionals.

Certification definition

The CTAP® Foundation certification assesses an individual’s ability to design, set up, and execute future-proof automated tests while also reporting the results. Certified individuals demonstrate proficiency in configuring test automation environments, designing and implementing test cases, executing tests, analyzing results, and ensuring the longevity and adaptability of test automation solutions. They possess the skills to collaborate effectively, communicate test automation progress, and contribute to improved software quality and efficiency.

Certification requirements

Candidates can become certified by passing the CTAP® Foundation certification exam.

Vouchers for the certification exam are available through accredited trainers and Van Haren Group.

Certificate renewal

The CTAP® Foundation certificate is valid for two years.

Exam format

The general exam regulations apply to this exam.
Attempts per voucher:1
Number of questions:40
Passing score:65%
Time:60 minutes




Question type:Multiple choice

Exam Syllabus

The following table is an overview of the topics examined in the certification exam.
#questions Level(s) of Cognition Category
1 2 3
4 De fundamenten van testautomatisatie
12 Algemene onderwerpen van testautomatisatie
14 Tooling en scripting
4 Opzetten van testautomatisering
6 Architectuur
More information about the levels of cognition
  • Level 1 - Knowledge: This level requires candidates to recall specific information or facts. They should demonstrate the ability to remember and recognize details, terms, or concepts from their learning materials.
  • Level 2 - Comprehension: At this level, candidates are expected to show their understanding of the acquired information. They should be able to interpret, explain, and summarize. Candidates must go beyond mere memorization and demonstrate that they can grasp the meaning and implications of the information they have learned.
  • Level 3 - Application: The focus at this level is on candidates’ ability to apply their acquired knowledge in practical situations. They should be able to use what they have learned to solve problems, apply principles, or implement strategies in real-world scenarios.
  • Level 4 - Analysis: Analysis involves candidates breaking down complex concepts into smaller parts and comprehending the relationships between them. Candidates must display the ability to analyze information, identify components, and understand the underlying connections between them.
  • Level 5 - Synthesis: At this level, candidates are expected to exhibit the ability to create something new by combining different ideas, concepts, or elements. Candidates must demonstrate their capacity to generate hypotheses, design experiments, or develop original solutions to problems. Synthesis involves creativity and the integration of different elements to form a novel whole.
  • Level 6 - Evaluation: This level requires candidates to use judgments or assessments based on criteria and evidence. Candidates must critically analyze information, compare and contrast different perspectives, and make informed decisions. They should demonstrate the ability to evaluate the quality, validity, and reliability of information, arguments, or solutions.

Reference Material

The reference material for the Certified Test Automation Professional exam is:

Certified Test Automation Professional (CTAP®) Courseware

Trainer accreditation

Van Haren Learning Solutions organizes the trainer accreditation for this certification program. More information on the accreditation process can be found on their website.